Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Lateral Clitoral Hood Reduction

Focus on the Lateral Clitoral Hood Reduction Technique that you will use in 95% of your labiaplasty cases. This is a CORE skill. I also introduces the Vertical Technique.

I transformed a modified vulvectomy skill I had learned as a former GYN ONC wannabe Fellow to a beautiful slimming and reducing technique to enhance labiaplasty surgery back in 2005. I noticed that the dramatic Barbie and Hybrid Look labiaplasties I was performing were gorgeous but it left a “TOP HEAVY” appearance. I had dramatically reduced labia minora tissue which left the clitoral hood sometimes looking huge and eventually was termed a “penis deformity.” This newsletter will show you how I perform my Lateral Clitoral Hood Reduction. There are dozens of these 4K videos shown on Gynflix.

I will be releasing Gynflix 2.0 later this month. It is a major upgrade that will make navigating and finding the videos you want easier. I will also offer all my modules at no additional charge for the Gynflix Gold Fellows members. That saves thousands and thousands of dollars and gives you the training diplomas you have requested. Best of all, it will have dozens of new full-length AIAVS Fellows Video and all my recorded webinars of the past 3 years. It is a serious upgrade! Gynflix Gold Fellows members will continue to receive this Labiaplasty Newsletter at no additional cost.

Red Alinsod, MD (red@gynflix.com, www.gynflix.com, www.alinsodinstitute.com)

Follow Vagenius on FB and VageniusMD on IG, TicTok and LinkedIn.

Lateral Clitoral Hood Reduction Technique

Below is an example of a patient I saw who had a beautiful labial reduction but was left with a very wide clitoral hood, dog ears, and asymmetry. Not good enough. How can I make the flow from top to bottom smoother and more attractive? Which Clitoral Hood Reduction technique works best for most of these patients?

The patient came to see me after her prior labiaplasty and was stressed that she had this large lump up above and a sleek appearance down below. She wanted a smoother flow from the clitoral hood to the frenulum to the labia.

I had seen several patients who had an attempt at clitoral hood reduction by renown plastic surgeons which gave an improvement in the length of the clitoral hood but not the width of the clitoral hood. I did not like the appearance of that technique as it left a prominent upside down “U” smack dab in the middle of the clitoral hood. Several had firm scars you could easily feel. Here is one of my Case Studies.

This patient had a wedge labiaplasty with an upside down U hood reduction. It resulted in holes and a firm scar across the clitoral hood that was painful and raised.
This patient’s Wedge Labiaplasty fell apart when the blood flow was interrupted. It gave the classic Swiss Cheese holes appearance. Arrows show the midline scar from the hood reduction.
You can see the pale raised scars from this view.

I ended up feathering the thick scar over the clitoral hood, removing the little guitar-like strands left, and creating a Barbie Look Labiaplasty. I will cover more about Feathering/Resurfacing/Revision on a future newsletter. Here is the photo set of the case from Before to Immediately After to After:

Focus on the third row down and how the clitoral hood was feathered flat and smooth to get rid of the keloid. She healed well with normal sensitivity.

Now onto the way I like doing my Lateral Clitoral Hood Reductions. I have taught this to hundreds of surgeons for the past two decades and now sharing it for the first time outside my office or Congress podium. The video goes along well with the photos.

The pictures below show step by step how to do a Lateral Clitoral Hood Reduction.

This post is for paid subscribers

Labiaplasty Newsletter
Labiaplasty Podcast
Covering all things labial from skin to surgery and everything in between. Surgical and Non-Surgical treatments discussed in detail.